21st International Conference on The Future of Asia

Thursday May 21 andFriday May 22, 2014


Mahathir bin Mohamad

Mahathir bin Mohamad

Former Prime Minister, Malaysia

Born on 20 December, 1925 in Kedah, Malaysia

1946 Became a member of the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO), Malaysia’s largest political party
1947 Gained admission into the King Edward VII College of Medicine in Singapore. Upon graduation he joined the Malaysian Government Service as a Medical Officer and left the service to set up his own practice in 1957
1964‒69 Member of Parliament
1974 Returned as Member of Parliament and appointed Minister of Education
1976 Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia
1978 Deputy President of UMNO
1981‒2003 President of UMNO and the fourth Prime Minister of Malaysia
2003-Present Honorary President of Perdana Leadership Foundation (PLF)
Chairman of Kuala Lumpur Foundation to Criminalise War (KLFCW)
President of Perdana Global Peace Foundation (PGPF)
Chancellor of University Technology PETRONAS
Chancellor of Perdana University
Chairman of Proton Holdings Bhd.
Chairman of Lotus plc.
Advisor to the Langkawi Island Development Authority (LADA)
Advisor to the Tioman Island Development Authority
Advisor to PETRONAS (Malaysia’s National Oil Company)

Following his retirement as Prime Minister, Dr Mahathir Mohamad was conferred the nation's highest award, Seri Maharaja Mangku Negara that carries the title“ Tun” in recognition of his immense contribution to the country.

Go to Conference Program Page